Skip to main content
The Episcopal Diocese of Wisconsin

View the map for The Episcopal Diocese of Wisconsin

About The Episcopal Diocese of Wisconsin

The Diocese of Wisconsin is a community of over 100 congregations and ministries of the Episcopal Church in Wisconsin.

We are

  • Focused on Jesus Christ
  • Centered in prayer and worship
  • Committed to living the radical love of Jesus and participating in God’s mission of justice, reconciliation, and repair

We seek to be a church in which

  • All are welcome
  • All are encouraged
  • All are challenged
  • All are transformed by the Holy Spirit

The Episcopal Diocese of Wisconsin was originally formed in 1847. In 1875, the Diocese of Fond du Lac was created to serve the northeastern 26 counties of the state. The Diocese of Wisconsin became the Diocese of Milwaukee in 1886. The Diocese of Eau Claire was formed out of the Diocese of Milwaukee and Fond du Lac in 1928 for the counties in the northwestern part of Wisconsin. On May 4, 2024, the three dioceses voted to approve a reuniting as the Diocese of Wisconsin and the reunion agreement was approved by the 81st General Convention on June 28, 2024.

The Episcopal Diocese of Wisconsin official website

Contact The Episcopal Diocese of Wisconsin

The Rt. Rev. Matthew Gunter


The Rev. Canon Scott Leannah

Canon to the Ordinary

Caroline Senn

Chief Financial Officer

Sara Bitner

Communications Officer

Graicey Van Spankeren

Administration Manager

Nate Irvine

Campus/Young Adult Minister (Milwaukee Area)

Erin Wolf

Youth Networking Coordinator

The Rev. Bobbi Kraft

Diocesan Young Adult & Campus Ministry Advisor

Lisa Baltes

Office Administrator

Matthew Payne

Business Administrator and Human Resources Manager