Skip to main content
Diocese of Iowa

View the map for Diocese of Iowa

About Diocese of Iowa

Welcome to the Diocese of Iowa! We are eight thousand baptized members in 59 congregations, large and small, configured to grow “in mission with Christ through each and all.”

Diocese of Iowa official website

Contact Diocese of Iowa

Featured Stories From Around the Diocese of Iowa

Iowa Episcopalians meet with lawmakers at the State House.
St. Paul's Episcopal Church, Grinnell, IA

As diocese’s lobbyist, Iowa priest invites Episcopalians to speak their faith to lawmakers

[Episcopal News Service – Des Moines, Iowa] Should The Episcopal Church be involved in politics? Spend some time with the Rev. Wendy Abrahamson in the halls of Iowa government and she might convince you the answer is yes, when she’s not busy persuading state lawmakers to listen to the church.


The Rt. Rev. Alan Scarfe

Bishop of Iowa

Ms. Elizabeth Adams

Diocesan Assistant

Canon Julianne Allaway

Executive Assistant to the Bishop

Ms. Ellen Bruckner

Diocesan Ministry Developer

The Rev. John Doherty


The Rev. Steve Godfrey

Missioner for Congregational Development and Transitions

Ms. Amy Mellies

Missioner for Children and Youth

Ms. Traci Petty

Administrative Missioner for Growing Iowa Leaders and Engaging All Disciples

Ms. Anne Wagner


The Rev. Meg Wagner

Missioner for Communications, Reconciliation, and New Initiatives